Professor Bertil Andersson
President, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Since becoming President of NTU Singapore in 2011, Professor Bertil Andersson has led the University to global distinction as the world’s fastest-rising young university that is also ranked first among the world’s young elite universities and the top Asian university in normalised citation impact.

A Fellow of Imperial College London, he was instrumental in Imperial College London coming to Singapore to jointly establish a medical school with NTU.

Before joining NTU as its Provost, he was Chief Executive of the European Science Foundation (2004-2007), where he consolidated research efforts across 30 European countries, and was the Rector (President) of Linköping University (1999-2003).

Professor Andersson has had a longstanding association with the Nobel Foundation. He was a member of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry (1989-1997) and its Chairman (1997). He was also a member of the Nobel Foundation (2000-2006) and held the position of Trustee (2006-2010).

A world-renowned plant biochemist, he has authored more than 300 papers in basic photosynthesis covering topics from photosystem structure to biological membranes and light stress in plants. He received the Austrian Wilhelm Exner Medal for his life-changing work, joining a list of laureates that includes Nobel Prize winners, and holds more than 12 honorary doctorates.

Professor Andersson has served on the boards of a number of international foundations and learned societies, including the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, European Molecular Biology Organisation, Australian Academy of Science, Academia Europaea, Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, and Swedish Foundation for International Cooperation in Research and Higher Education.